Electricians..... settle an arguement please

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Woma_Wild

Reaction score
I recently purchased a second hand double enclosure cabinet so I'm doing a bit of DIY on it.
Both sections have 2 x BC lamp holders so rather than get an electrician to re wire them , I purchased BC to ES adapters.

I have been told by an electrician that these adapters are illegal.

Is this true ?

If u bought them over the counter they can't be that illegal
You can buy a bong over the counter but if you are caught with a used one you will be charged. Back to the OP I am an electrician but do not work in the house wiring industry but have not heard of these being illegal but as perviously stated they are a fire risk.

What I got told by the bloke at the local reptile shop is that household fittings are only rated to 60watts. This is the reason that all my enclosures have ceramic ES fittings rated to 250watts. I can imagine that the adapters would be a fire hazard because i have seen them partially melt when people have used CHE's in them... I haven't heard that the adapters are illegal, but i wouldn't be surprised if it is true...

What I got told by the bloke at the local reptile shop is that household fittings are only rated to 60watts. This is the reason that all my enclosures have ceramic ES fittings rated to 250watts. I can imagine that the adapters would be a fire hazard because i have seen them partially melt when people have used CHE's in them... I haven't heard that the adapters are illegal, but i wouldn't be surprised if it is true...
I believe the BC (house fitting) bases are rated up to 100W but it is the adaptor BC to ES (screw in type) is only rated at 60W.