Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ReeRawr

Reaction score
Firstly, Hi everyone!

I've just registered on this site and am looking to purchase and care for my first ever python! I am very new to the scene, have never owned a reptile before but have other animals in my care at the moment. I've always wanted a green tree python, only problem is I live in WA!! Anyone know if it is possible at all to obtain one or maybe even a jungle carpet python? I reallllyyyy want either one of these pythons, but am afraid that I wont be able to obtain one because I live here :(

All help is greatly appreciated!!

As the man said, they cannot be legally kept by hobbyists in WA. Nor are you likely to be able to do so in the foreseeable future. The Department of the Environment (DEC) is responsible for authorising and policing of the keeping of reptiles. They have an embargo on the importation of all pythons in an attempt to keep WA free of Boid/Body Inclusion Disease (IBD), a very nasty virus which only pythons (and boas) can contract. In addition to this, DEC is extremely reluctant to expand the current keeping list of 41 species and will not even consider any animal which does not occur naturally in WA. If you are super keen, perhaps you need to think about moving interstate

Green Tree Pythons are not a snake for beginners. You need to gain experience and understanding of keeping first so you can hone your skills in preparation for taking on a GTP. Jungles are a reasonable python to start with – a little more temperamental than some, but not too much.

Blue