Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

manoudii

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone! My names Amanda, I'm 22 and from Sydney Australia. I've joined the forum to hopefully gain some insight on pythons, snakes and reptiles. I am only a newbie but the interest has always been there! When I was younger we owned a snake (i think it was a brown swamp snake) and that's were my fasination started. My partner and I are really keen to get a Python soon, but I want to learn all I can before making the committment.

Hope to be chatting to you soon!

Cheers

hey amanda. welcome. u will find this site interesting to say the least
but, extremely helpful........be warned.............its addictive :D

i take it u dont hav any reptiles as yet
whats the first one u want

well I'm very keen on getting a python. I want something that is perhaps child friendly? I have a 1yr old son. I don't want it so my son can play with it obviously, but I want something that can become apart of the family, and something he can grow attached too. do you have any suggestions?

everyones suggestions are going to be different
i have a 5 1/2 yr old daughter so i know what u mean
my first python was a carpet, she is now 2, never bitten, never striked, never hissed.
she is a angel to have
a couple of months ago i brought my daughter a childreni, it did nothing but bite me for 1 month. but now she has settled heaps, although i still wont let my daughter hold it until it has completely calmed down
many people will recomend a childrens python, they are generally very placid snakes. but, i would recomend a carpet. find one u like the look of and go from there. a Murray darling carpet is very popular as they are generally a very placid python