Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
….I am pretty much a complete newbie to all of this and when i first joined this forum the very first post i made i got a rude comment as a reply and almost completely gave up right then and there. The only thing that saved me and my love towards my new hobby is that i had a good friend that i leant on for info and he was fantastic!
Everyone needs to remember that others may not be as fortunate as i was and one rude comment could turn a newbie off the hobby before they really begin!

One has to wonder why this happens when Site Rule No.1 states: “Be nice to other members”. I have watched what happens and given it a good deal of thought. What is very clear is that in every case someone makes a negative comment (either directly or indirectly) about another member in relation to their post. This opens the door for a retort, in kind, and away we go….

Some members feel compelled to come to the defence of others and so get drawn into the conflict. Some act like ‘vultures’ waiting and ready to pounce for their pound of flesh. Whatever the reason for getting involved, people would not do so if it did not get personal in the first place. So no matter how justified you feel in passing even a small comment about the poster, DON’T!!!

APS should be a pleasant place to spend time pursuing our interests and interacting with like-minded people. Not a place where you have to sit through people being rude and arrogant while they indulge in name smearing and / or character assassination. To this end, I would like to suggest a more pragmatic approach to Site Rule No.1. I know from experience that if you adhere to it, it works….

ATTACK THE POST, NEVER THE POSTER!

Blue

Bluetongue1 - Read the first 2 pages of this post and see if you find it amusing?