Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ajandj

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new to the snake discussion but not new to the forum. I've had bluey's in the past and now have a gorguz bearded dragon named Yoda.

My son has been hounding me about getting a snake and l am really terrified of snakes. I've not said a flat out no, but lets wait til your birthday (in June) and then well talk about it again.
I'm hoping by doing a lot of research that i might warm up to the idea of having a snake. My problem is, lm not sure where to start - meaning, what sort of snake to look at getting. All ideas, suggestions and advice good or bad will be greatly accepted. Once l know what sort of snake would be good for a beginner, then l can start researching the ins and outs of that snake.
Thanks in advance,

Jane

Albino darwin is my first snake choice :). Get what appeals to you and is within your budget (incl housing, feeding for the rest of it's life).

cheers, that was actually a very interesting read.. i liked the part about a snake that doesn't bite... :)

Have a look and find one that you like. Then read up as much as you can about it, talk to as many people as you can to get as much info as possible!!! How big do you want it to get is one place to start, as some can get very large!! Look into housing, heating, feeding etc and make sure you can supply all that he/she needs! Good luck and cant w8 to see what you get!!! make sure you put pics up when you do!!!!!

I reckon a childrens pyton or a spotted python.. I though womas were exoctics?

Very hard to go wrong with a Woma... very robust, hardy snakes.
i agree with this. Bought my girlfriend a woma yearling this year for her first snake and she loves it and