Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Humpo75

Reaction score
Hi all im new to the reptile family. I have had bearded dragons for 10 months now and love them. I now want a snake (once I can talk the wife into it).

I want one that I can handle and is not going to bite me every time I go near them.
What breed do you guys think would be good to start with?
Is it better to get a baby snake and grow with it or a older one?

Any snake is a good snake. It depends on your situation. Have you got the space and money to spend on a potentially 12-foot animal? If not, then coastal carpet pythons are not for you. If you want something slightly smaller, go with a bredli (centrallian carpet python) or a MD (inland carpet python). If you don't have much space at all, go with something from the Antaresia group (such as a spotted, childrens or stimsons python).

If you have all the space you want, then you could go with an olive or scrub python. You just need to know that these snakes get to massive lengths and can give nasty bites when they're adults, and that it's always a good idea to have two people when getting them out.

What you need to do is research, research, research. Find what snake(s) appeal to you, by colour, size, cost, whatever, then go with it. I personally started with a spotted python and can safely say that I wouldn't swap her for the world.