Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

SlytherinGirl

Hi,
I'm another of those countless posters who are on the search for their first snake. And, I'm very excited :D!
I'm a complete newbie to snakes- although I've been googling like crazy for the last six months or so in search for the perfect snake. I'm 14 years old, and I have my reluctant mother's concent, however I think that's as much help as I'll be getting from her :lol:.
I was wondering what people's opinions are on good firsty's- I know there are heaps of similar posts, but I'd like to ad my own little part first ;)

I know that so many people say "It's not the snake's looks that are important, but their temperment!". Well, that's all fine and well, but I would really like a pretty snake, not a plain looking one. Sure, shallow, but I like a nice animal.
Although so many say that you can't stop at one, at this stage I'm only looking for one snake, and I want it to be the right one for me. And that means pretty, as well as nice tempered and easy.

I was originally looking at the Spotted (or any other Anteresias) but (if you are an Antaresia lover, I truly hope not to offend you- I'm sure they are a delightful snake) I would like something with a nicer pattern.
I am now looking at the Darwin Carpet Python. I know they can grow quite a bit bigger (if someone could tell me a precise measurement, that would be MUCH appreciated), but their pattern is just so beeeeautiful! And they are aboreal (from what I've heard), so they'll climb around.
I've heard that they can be kinda snappy as youngsters, but I've also heard that you can always find placid individuals- I'm hoping to find that individual.
Mind you, I'm still not locked into this idea- there's still room for movement!