Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

RedButcheress

Reaction score
Hello All, I'm a newbie to both this chat forum and the world of snakes and reptiles.
My best buddy Ilona and myself have always loved reptiles and decided we would invest in some.
She wants a Snake.
and I want a Dragon.
Now for the Silly Questions.

Ilona wants a snake that will get to be as thick at my wrist (or anyone's at that) and around 2-4 m, what kinda snake would that be... and no I'm not letting her get a scrub python... (I saw two snakes kill my dog so I'm a wee bit frightened of snakes and will probably take me awhile to get use to them.

Second question What would be a good dragon for a beginner? I looked after a dragon that my cat almost digested... and now he is king of my mothers garden and still chases her... heehee never liked my mum.

Third question. we have quite a menagerie going on, two red rump birds, three siamese fighting fish, two rats how will a dragon and a snake be around these guys. a breeder told ilona to always wash her hands after playing with birds or rats before touching the snake (which is obvious duh) but then a friend (who I dislike...) said that just the smell of the rats and birds will drive the snake nuts. is this true?

Thanks HEAPS

Elle (red butcheress)

1st a good large snake would be an Olive python they generally are more plasid than the grummy scrub pythons.

2nd best dragon by far would be the Central bearded dragons for beginners

3rd as long as to dont keep them intogether they will be fine, wash your hands before moving onto the next animals and if you keep their enclosures clean the smell shouldnt be a problem

Well!
On this site I'm quite sure you'll be getting a multitude of opinions thrown at you, so kudos on picking this community to ask questions at.