Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Defiant

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Greetings all,

I am a 30 something wife and mother from Adelaide SA. After years of pleading...the hubby has finally given in to my desire to own a snake! Sooo...here starts my journey. Im looking for advice, and hopefully in the not to distant future I too will be a snake owner!

I had my heart set on an Olive....untill I found out how big they get...now im open to suggestions. I am a complete novice...who has just a love for snakes and not alot of knowledge in terms of owning one! So be nice....please! Would love to talk to fellow Adelaideans.

Welcome, Defiant :)

If you're prepared to spend the cash, I would personally recommend either a woma, or a black-headed python as a first snake. If you're worried about size, I believe that a Tanami woma is the best looking Australian python which has a small average adult length (4-5ft) and aren't known for being tempermental.

Best of luck with everything, Defiant.

Hello and Welcome to APS.

It's totally up to you as to which snake you get as your first - Just depends on that you can cope with the size of the adult snake and that you'd be comfortable with it.

Some people have suggested: Stimson Pythons, Spotted Pythons, Childrens Pythons, Bredli, Murray Darling Carpet Pythons, Jungle Pythons and the list goes on and on for a first snake.

Just remember - Regardless of how many people say a certain species is most placid, You still have to expect to cop of a bite or 2.

Good luck with your decision.

Welcome to APS.

I've heard lots of people say Childrens Pythons and Carpet Pythons are the best starters.

I agree. Woma and Blackhead are great snakes to handle and they have atractive look also.

Welcome in our community.

Welcome to APS.